It’s that time of year again, and while there is a lot of anticipation heading into the Christmas season, avid birders are gearing up for a Christmas activity of their own. This weekend marks the beginning of the Christmas Bird Counts across North America and while we are only a few days away, it is not too late to register for a local count in your area.

Below we have compiled a list of Christmas Bird Counts across Eastern Ontario to help our local birders get out and do their part for the birds. If you live in the area, this is your chance to take part in the 116th Christmas Bird Count. If however, you are not situated close to us here in eastern Ontario, you can visit the Audubon Map which displays information for the counts being held across the continent!

 

Ottawa-Gatineau

The main count for the city of Ottawa begins on Saturday, December 12th and is conducted by Bernie Ladouceur. He can be reached via email at vbladouceur@rogers.com for registration information.

Carleton Place

Iain Wilkes is running this year’s count in Carleton Place, Ontario, west of Ottawa. The count begins on December 27th and you can register by emailing Iain at iain.wilkes@hotmail.com

Eganville

This year’s Eganville count is being headed up by Jean Brereton and begins on December 20th. To find out more information or to register contact Jean at jbrereton@hughes.net.

Deep River

James Ungrin is running this year’s count up in Deep River, Ontario which is scheduled for December 20th as well. Email ungrinjr@gmail.com for more information.

Rideau Ferry

Rideau Ferry’s count is scheduled for October 19th and is run by Alison Bentley. Get in touch with her via email at alisonbentley@gmail.com.

Delta

Stephen Seiffert is in charge of this year’s count in the Delta region, northwest of Brockville, Ontario. The count is schedules for December 16th and you can contact Stephen at slseiffert@cogeco.ca.

Thousand Islands

Josh Van Wieren is running the bird count in the Thousand Islands region of Ontario which is slated for December 18th. Get in contact with Josh at josh.vanwieren@pc.gc.ca for more information.

Kingston

This year’s count in Kingston, Ontario will take place on December 20th and is conducted by Mark Read. Mark can be contacted via email at markdread@gmail.com for registration information.

Napanee

The bird count in Napanee is being held later on in the month, scheduled for December 27th this year. Contact Bonnie Bailey at bbailey@strathconapaper.com for more information.

There are many other bird counts in Eastern Ontario, but at the moment are without dates listed on the Audubon Map.   Here are the local contacts for a number of other counts that have yet to publish dates:

Dunrobin-Breckenridge – Bruce Di Labio bruce.dilabio@sympatico.ca

Pakenham-Arnprior – Michael Runtz: mruntz@start.ca

Lanark Highlands – Cliff Bennett: Bennett@magma.ca

Gananoque – Kurt Hennige: khennige@xplornet.com

Pembroke – Christian Renault: crenault5@gmail.com

Renfrew – Jim Ferguson: jameshf@xplornet.com